Welcome to Copenican Integration Centre
- The Copernicus Integration Centre will be a long-lasting and vibrant reminder of the Year of Nicolaus Copernicus,' said Prof dr habil. Andrzej Sokala, NCU Rector, during the official opening of the Centre on 12 September. The new place on the campus map is a space for, among other things, joint activities, meetings, training sessions and workshops.
The NCU Copernican Integration Centre was established on the site of the New Bielany underground water intake emergency station at 16 Olszewskiego Street as a joint initiative of Nicolaus Copernicus University, the Municipality of Toruń and the Kujawsko-Pomorskie voivodeship government.
– We are opening the Centre in a special year – the 550th anniversary of Nicolaus Copernicus' birth,' stressed Prof. dr habil. Andrzej Sokala, NCU Rector. – The focal point of the Year of Copernicus is, of course, the World Copernican Congress, whose Toruń part begins today, but we are all aware that in a few days the Congress will become history. And we, on the other hand, thought a few years ago, while preparing for this jubilee, that it would be worth leaving some kind of permanent trace of the event – something that would serve the University community and the city's inhabitants for decades.
The founding of the Centre was made possible thanks to the donation of the property to the University by the municipal company Toruń Waterworks.
Three historic buildings have been adapted for the Centre: a two-storey engine house, known as the 'Moomins' house' because of its distinctive shape; a residential building, originally occupied by the driver who operated the station; and a nearby outbuilding with adjoining land.
– Now this place has taken on a new dimension and new splendour and, above all, it will fulfil an important purpose: the integration of the academic community in matters which go beyond lecture theatres and research laboratories, and which concern good relations,' said Michał Zaleski, Toruń's Mayor. – I have no doubt that the decision of Toruń Waterworks was the right one, and I thank the Rector for having the courage to take on the management of this area. This has been done brilliantly.
The new location on the map of the university campus was intended as a space for joint activities, meetings, training and workshops. In addition, the Deputy Rectorfor Equality, the Academic Ombudsman and the YUFE student counselling service have found their home in the Centre. A gallery has also been set up at the Centre, where male and female students of NCU's Faculty of Fine Arts will be able to display their works.
The International Point, located there, will also have an important function in helping international members of the university community to organise their stay in Poland and find their way around the university.
The Director of the NCU Copernican Integration Centre Małgorzata Błaszczak, emphasises that the Centre is intended to be a place open to everyone. – We welcome everyone who feels like visiting us," she says. – Our task is to integrate both the academic, local and international community. We already host events aimed at different groups of people: children, young people, seniors, international students. And all this in an amazing space - we are in the centre of the city, and it feels like we are in the middle of a forest, where we can relax among the greenery, watching birds and other animals.
Part of the green area that surrounds the buildings is occupied by the Edible Garden, opened in spring 2023. Edible Garden, where visitors can grow vegetables, fruit and flowers, observe nature and expand their knowledge of horticulture, permaculture, agroecology, ecology, sustainability and rational management of natural resources. The garden is growing under the guidance of urban gardener Paulina Jeziorek.
The entire area is complemented by a relaxation area with hammocks and deckchairs and a garden gazebo, created for barbecue gatherings. Copernican Integration Centre on Facebook
The decision to build a new pump station was taken in 1915. It was to supplement the water shortage in the network of the dynamically developing city. The water intake was designated in the area of the then pioneer training ground in Bielany, in its part called Nowe Bielany. Implementation of the project began in 1916 and work continued until May 1917. At that time, a picturesque two-storey engine house was built, which has retained its characteristic block built in the style of the early 20th century architecture, and a one-storey residential house with a high attic. The Nowe Bielany station was entered in the register of monuments in 1982 as an important element of the city's cultural identity.